

## THE BANK OF EAST ASIA, LIMITED

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability in 1918) (Stock Code: 23)

## **ANNOUNCEMENT**

## **UNUSUAL PRICE MOVEMENTS**

This statement is made at the request of The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "**Stock Exchange**").

The Board of directors (the "**Board**") of The Bank of East Asia, Limited (the "**Bank**") has noted the recent decreases in the trading price of the shares of the Bank and wish to state that we are not aware of any reasons for such decreases.

Save and except that the Bank is in discussion with third parties in relation to possible transactions which are or may be of a price-sensitive nature, the Board confirms that there are no negotiations or agreements relating to intended acquisitions or realizations which are discloseable under rule 13.23 of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange (the "Listing Rules"), neither is the Board aware of any matter discloseable under the general obligation imposed by rule 13.09 of the Listing Rules, which is or may be of a price-sensitive nature.

Made by the order of the Bank, the Board of the Directors of which (except Dr. LI Fook-wo, Mr. WONG Chung-hin, Dr. LEE Shau-kee, Dr. Allan WONG Chi-yun, Mr. Aubrey LI Kwok-sing, Dr. William MONG Man-wai, Mr. Winston LO Yau-lai, Tan Sri Dr. KHOO Kay-peng, Mr. Thomas KWOK Ping-kwong, Mr. Richard LI Tzar-kai, Mr. TAN Man-kou, Mr. Kenneth LO Chin-ming, Mr. Eric LI Fook-chuen and Mr. Stephen Charles LI Kwok-sze who cannot be contacted with) individually and jointly accept responsibility for the accuracy of this statement.

By Order of the Board **David LI Kwok-po**Chairman and Chief Executive

Hong Kong, 7<sup>th</sup> December, 2007.

As at the date of this announcement, the Executive Directors of the Bank are: Dr. The Hon. Sir David LI Kwok-po (Chairman and Chief Executive) and Mr. Joseph PANG Yuk-wing (Deputy Chief Executive); Non-executive Directors of the Bank are: Dr. LI Fook-wo, Mr. Aubrey LI Kwok-sing, Dr. William MONG Man-wai, Tan Sri Dr. KHOO Kay-peng, Mr. Richard LI Tzar-kai, Mr. Eric LI Fook-chuen and Mr. Stephen Charles LI Kwok-sze; and Independent Non-executive Directors are: Mr. WONG Chung-hin, Dr. LEE Shau-kee, Dr. Allan WONG Chi-yun, Mr. Winston LO Yau-lai, Mr. Thomas KWOK Ping-kwong, Mr. TAN Man-kou and Mr. Kenneth LO Chin-ming.